University of Toronto
BRICS flags
BRICS Information Centre

BRICS Membership Expansion:
Guiding Principles, Standards, Criteria and Procedures

August 23, 2023

BRICS is the name of the partnership founded by Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa. BRICS is an equal partnership of diverse countries with independent views. Since inception at Foreign Minister's level in 2006, the first BRIC Summit in 2009 and expansion in 2010, BRICS has developed and evolved in the spirit of mutual respect and understanding, equality, solidarity, openness, inclusiveness, and consensus, mutually beneficial cooperation and closer people-to-people exchanges. BRICS members states have developed shared values and common interests that underlie mutually beneficial cooperation and a shared vision for a better world. All decisions are taken by BRICS member states in full consultation and consensus. BRICS member states agreed on the guiding principles, standards, criteria and procedures for BRICS membership expansion during the XV BRICS Summit in Johannesburg, South Africa, from 22 to 24 August 2023.

Guiding Principles for BRICS membership expansion:

Standards and Criteria for BRICS membership expansion:

A new BRICS member state should:

Procedure for BRICS membership expansion:


[back to top]

Source: Official website of South Africa's BRICS presidency